Close this search box.



LGANT is recognised as the peak representative body for local government in the Northern Territory. It prides itself on being the voice for its members on both local and national issues. The Association provides leadership and services to councils, as well as representation to the NT Government and other key stakeholders. As a result of LGANT’s membership with the Australian Local Government Association (ALGA), members are represented nationally.

LGANT advocates and lobbies for its members and represents their collective views to other two spheres of government and other stakeholders. It also provides other services to its members such as advice, support and training in areas such as procurement and governance.

LGANT has 16 members including four municipals, three shires and nine regional councils. It also has one associate member.

Membership of LGANT is voluntary and open to all local government bodies in the Northern Territory constituted under the Local Government Act 2019. LGANT can also admit associate members under Clause 7(d) of the Constitution.

LGANT members




LGANT Associates

Prospective Groote Archipelago Regional Council

Detailed maps of the local government areas and boundaries in the Northern Territory can be found on the Northern Territory Electoral Commission website.

A map of local government areas is provided below.