Close this search box.

Local Government in the NT

Local Government in the NT

Local government makes a significant contribution to the Northern Territory economy as they collectively employ around 3,000 Territorians. Councils are also often the largest employer of Indigenous people in remote and regional areas, manage and control assets and infrastructure valued at $2.57 billion, are responsible for over 13,000 kilometres of roads and receive and expend over $505 million in the Northern Territory annually.

As at October 2022, 60.9% of elected members are Aboriginal. 

Local government areas cover about 98% of the land mass in the Northern Territory. Unincorporated areas in the Northern Territory are outlined on the Northern Territory Electoral Commission’s website.

Local Authorities

There are 67 local authorities across regional and remote communities in the Northern Territory. They are involved in planning, giving feedback on service delivery and identifying priority community projects.

Regional councils operate local authorities. There are nine regional councils in the Northern Territory.

Go to the Northern Territory Government website to find your council.